OXENFREE – Press Kit

Release Date: January 15, 2016

Price: $9.99


Game Description:

A fun night partying takes a supernatural turn for the teens of Camena High. Unlock the mysteries of a ghostly rift in this choice-driven thriller.

Alex is a bright, rebellious teenager who brings her new stepbrother, Jonas, to an overnight party on an old military island. The senior-year tradition takes a terrifying turn when she stumbles upon the island’s cryptic past in this World War II-inspired narrative that GamesBeat calls “a big next step for adventure games.”

Play as Alex: 

  • Explore a haunted island: Hike and talk across lush woods, abandoned military forts and more. What’s simmering just beneath the hauntingly beautiful veneer of Edwards Island will forever change your perception of reality. 
  • Contact the supernatural: Rumor has it if you stand in just the right spot, you can use a radio to tune in a station that doesn’t exist on Edwards Island. Turn the radio dial, activating ways to save your friends and communicate with ghosts. 
  • Your choices matter: Will you encourage your best friend to ask out his crush? Can you close the distance between yourself and your new stepbrother? Be mindful — your choices will impact your relationships and inform how you tackle otherworldly threats.


  • Night School’s signature conversation system that changes the story and your relationships based on every decision
  • A unique radio mechanic that allows Alex to communicate with mysterious spectres and manipulate her world
  • Art from Disney alum and an original soundtrack by scntfc (JETT: The Far Shore, Sneaky Sasquatch, and Virtual Virtual Reality)
  • Multiple mysteries to unravel, spanning decades and lifetimes
  • Inspired by little-known events of World War II
  • Featuring voice talent from The Wolf Among Us, The Walking Dead, Borderlands and more
  • Music and Sound by scntfc
  • 30+ subtitled localizatios exclusively available in OXENFREE: Netflix Edition: Arabic, Chinese (Simplified), Chinese (Traditional), Croatian, Czech, Danish, Dutch, English, Finnish, French, German, Greek, Hebrew, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Malay, Norwegian, Polish, Portuguese (Brazil), Portuguese (Portugal), Romanian, Russian, Spanish (Latam), Spanish (Spain), Swedish, Turkish, Ukrainian, and Vietnamese.


  • Erin Yvette: Alex
  • Gavin Hammon: Jonas
  • Britanni Johnson: Nona
  • Avital Ash: Clarissa
  • Aaron Kubin: Ren


Screenshots: Download .Zip (with localizations in English, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese (Brazil), Spanish)

GIFs: Download .Zip

Images from Tudum: A Netflix Global Fan Event, with host Jamie Foxx:

Key Art and Concept Art: